Uncommon Stock

A good friend of mine called me on Friday and asked if I’d like to meet him for lunch at a new soup place called Uncommon Stock.  He told me it was a new venture by the guy behind Happy Gillis’ Cafe and Hangout and the Genessee Royale Bistro.  I really like both of the other restaurants so I said sure.  One of the things I have always liked about Happy Gillis was the soup.  At times I’d see some concoction on the menu and think, huh, I wouldn’t have thought to put those ingredients together, I’d order it and it would be great.  I’ve even actually thought, “I wish I could take some of this home for dinner”. 

Uncommon Stock is located in the garage behind Happy Gillis’ Cafe and Hangout, on Gillis Street just a few steps away from Happy Gillis’ entrance.  You walk in through the brightly painted red door and see the selections for the day handwritten on craft paper, taped to the wall with blue painter’s tape.  There were 3 soups to choose from.

  1. Oven Roasted Tomato Soup with Fresh Basil;  Vine ripened tomatoes, onions, garlic and fresh basil. $11
  2. Roasted Mushroom Soup with Sherry and Fresh Thyme;  Roasted mushrooms, sherry, olive oil, poached garlic, and fresh thyme. $11
  3. Lentil Soup with Autumn Vegetables and Sausage $12

You buy the soup by the quart, take it home and reheat it.  This week I chose the Tomato Basil and the Lentil.  My son and I had the tomato basil with a grilled cheese, our comfort food when the air gets chilly.  He described it as “very herb-y”, I’d agree, you could really taste the basil.  We loved it.  It went really well with our Co-Jack grilled cheese sandwiches on Friday night.  On Saturday evening, we tried the Lentil.  The sausage was cut up into miniscule chunks, as were the majority of the vegetables which were still slightly firm and hadn’t been cooked to mush.  It had a great flavor, we tried to figure out what all of the vegetables were.  We found eggplant, sweet potato and was that pumpkin or squash?  We weren’t certain.  It also had a bit of hot sauce in it which gave it a kick, not enough of a kick to make your nose run, but enough to let you know it was there.  We really liked this soup also and I’ve decided to buy it again the next time it is available. 

You see, different soup is prepared for each weekend.  It won’t be the same each time.  You can find out what’s been prepared by checking out their Facebook page or their own webpage.  You can also sign-up to receive notices of what’s cooking.

Uncommon Stock is only open from 10am to 4pm Friday and Saturday and from 10am to 2pm on Sunday.  It’s going to become one of my winter go-to places, maybe I’ll see you there.

Uncommon Stock
549 Gillis Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
 
Phone:  816-510-7790
Email:  mail@uncommon-stock.com
 
  

Uncommon Stock on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment